Twitter Chats

baby-with-computer-200px

Recently in English we have been having discussions about the Scarlet Letter.  Instead of doing a socratic seminar, group discussions, or even small group discussions, we get to do twitter chats with the entire class including our teacher!  Yes, I know what you’re saying, why is so great, well I’ll tell you.  It’s so great because we get to go out of the classroom for a day, talk among friends, and it’s fun because as you’re typing your answer, thirty odd more students are doing the same as well.  It also makes sure that people’s responses are short, only 140 characters, because when you do in class discussions they can get pretty long.  Trust me, I know.  If you are scared of speaking out, or just don’t like it, then this is especially good for you because they can read it if they want to and you’re not as pressured with the whole class’s eyes on you.  You don’t have to sit there waiting for the person to be done talking either because everyone is adding to the same conversation at the same time and this helps ideas to flow more fluently and quickly and more people get to speak this way.  For me, they help me understand what we’re talking about a little bit more as well because if I put my answer up, the my teacher’s question, and see someone else’s and think that it’s just amazing, then I can favorite it, retweet it, or even comment on it to tell them what I think.  It also gives you helpful criticism on how you view and understand the book.

All I’m saying is that this is really neat and effective in many ways and I’m going to actually miss English class after this year because I don’t know if my teacher next year will do this.  I hope you do this at your school, and if not, then I hope you can convince him/her to let you try it.

That’s all for now!  Tell me what you think and what you’re experiences were if you have done this before.

-Gold Glitter Pumps

Please Leave a Reply

