Keeping Secrets

Right now I am reading The Great Gatsby for class and so is Navy Blue Dress.  I have seen the movie and I liked it a lot but Navy Blue Dress hasn’t.  I want to tell her the ending so badly but I can’t because she doesn’t want to know and I have to respect that because I hate it when people spoil things for me and it’s courteous anyways.  We’re almost done with it and I can’t wait to see her reaction.  I want to know what she thinks about it an if it was the same as the movie.  After, of course, I want to watch it with her so that she has both read the book and seen the movie.  Who doesn’t love a movie with Leonardo DiCaprio anyways?

So far I am thoroughly enjoying it but I just hope that the ending wasn’t as anticlimactic as the movie was.  The ending just did not do justice for me but you are ore than welcome to disagree with me.  The whole thing about not telling Navy Blue Dress made me think about the concept of secrets.  It shows that you trust someone enough to tell them a secret but it can also be a selfish thing if you need to get something off your chest but now that person has nobody they can tell and no relief to gain, with out breaking your trust at least.  They are able to create strong friendships and also tear them apart.  They can tempt you, push you to the breaking point, and bring covered truth to the surface for an instant and then seemed to have never existed before.  After all, when you mix promises with stubbornness you get loyalty and secrets has the capability to undo that whole recipe.

It’s hard to find someone nowadays that can keep a secret truthfully.  I think that’s also a big deal breaker in a relationship when a guy can’t keep a secret, especially yours.  Of course this comes back to bite you when he knows something about someone else that he can’t tell you.  When you’re married to someone though you agree to share everything with them but I think this has a limit or a certain respect when it comes to secrets because if my best friend was having problems and she didn’t want anybody to know then there is no reason to tell my husband and if he asks then I hope he can respect how I’m keeping my secret and if it was absolutely necessary then of course I was tell him.

Wow, I think too much.  My head hurts now.  I am going to go get some advil and let you sit there thinking about this.  Have a wonderful day.

p.s.  You have no idea how hard it is sometimes when I write about Navy Blue Dress and I start to use her real name.  It’s a good thing I check after writing everything of mine.

–  Gold Glitter Pumps

Please Leave a Reply

