That’s Enough

We still aren’t don’t with The Great Gatsby in class and I only found that out after my English teacher thought it would be a good idea to have a discussion and read an article about it.  We already had to do the BRAWL and that was enough, more than enough actually.  I would have preferred to just have taken a test on the book instead of doing this but I am in AP so what he says goes.  I would just like to politely disagree with what he says though.  At least the year is half over and I can read more AP books for the AP exam next year; fun all around me.  I think the more we talk about the book the more I don’t like it.  It’s like setting your alarm to wake you up to your favorite song because you will hate that song really quickly since that’s what drives you to get up from your pleasant dreams and comfy sleep and wake up.  I’m sure there are benefits to discussing and answering questions about The Great Gatsby in class but I think you can only analyze something so much before you don’t see any new connections or points of interests.  It’s the same reason why it’s a good idea to have someone else read your essay or whatever before you turn it in since you have read it so many times that it’s hard for you to see the grammar errors and helpful hints.

It’s important to know when to move on and when it’s worth it to try something new.

–  Gold Glitter Pumps

Please Leave a Reply

