Nuts. Gluten Free. Chocolate chips. Ay!

This has been a hard lesson for me to grasp and I don’t think I have completely embraced this yet.  And on a side note, I really admire and like Bill Cosby.  When I saw this quote as I was trying of something to write about for english, I felt like someone had described me because one of my biggest problems is trying to make everyone happy.  Not that this is a bad thing because wanting to make people happy is not abad quality but trying to please everyone is impossible.  There is just no one answer that everyone will 100% be good with and like.  It’s just not going to happen, that is why we have compromises.  I understand this idea because it just makes sense but putting this idea into practice is the harder part for me because I am not used to that.  When I found this picture It also made me remember earlier today when Navy Blue Dress and I made and sold banana bread and we even did it with our best friend today.  As we were doing it though we got more questions like, “Are you sure there are no nuts in it?”, “Is it gluten free?”, and “Are there chocolate chips in it?”  It made me kind of flustered because I wanted to be able to give the banana bread to people the way that they wanted it but the problem is if we specialize it, to say, only gluten-free then we will also lose a lot of “customers” as well.  It’s hard t tell people that you can’t give them what they want, especially when they are being really nice and sweet and then you have to disappoint them.  Of course, the problem with companies nowadays is that they try to have more breadth than depth and capitalism and most definitely businesses cannot succeed with more breadth than depth.  I need to learn how to make people happy and satisfied as much as I can without tearing myself apart and then if it doesn’t work I’ll have to be okay knowing that I gave it my best shot and I can’t make someone be happy if they don’t want to be anyways.

Try and go and make somebody happy today, but no matter what happens, don’t let it bring you down but rather lift you higher.

– Gold Glitter Pumps

Please Leave a Reply

