Check That Off the List

Pencil-Checking-Off-List-Image-960x645

Hello everybody! I hope your weekend was amazing! Mine was, I just wish it was longer.

Recently, I have had so much to do. I barely have any free time because I have so much to do. This all makes me stress out a lot and I don’t like to feel stressed out. And if I take a break one day then I am just going to feel more stressed out the next day because I didn’t do anything. Now no, this isn’t just a post to rant about all the stress in my life, its about how I know have one fewer thing to do.

Every week in English class for the past 21 weeks(not including breaks) we have been doing something called morphemes. They are basically a part of a word (i.e. lud, ad, uni, etc.) and when they are in words it can help you figure out the definitions of these words. Every week we would have ten of these and we would have to find a word with one of the morphemes in it and give the definition to that word (you did one of these for each morph). Then you would write ten sentences, one for each word you just looked up. Or later in this whole process we started writing paragraphs, and you had to use at least six of the words. Every three weeks we had a quest (no worth as much as a test, but more than a quiz), so each one would be on thirty morphs; but sometimes old morphs would come up in the quiz.

Like I said, we have done this for the past 21 weeks, and we are finally finished with them and I am so excited about that. Its not that these were hard or anything, but on top of everything else that I have to do, it was just one more thing for me to stress about. It probably doesn’t help that I left all the stuff to do for each of them and studying up until the day before it was due; but most of that wasn’t on purpose. I would either forget about them, or be extremely busy with other stuff that I just had no time. Now this doesn’t mean that I suddenly have a ton of spare time-I wish- but it was nice to hear that we aren’t doing them anymore and it was one less thing for me to stress over.

I’m not sure if teachers, especially AP teachers, understand that we can’t just work all the time. One, its not healthy and two, most kids (and for the most part adults too) don’t want to have to work that long. When teachers go home, they might have to grade some papers or due a few lesson plans, but even those aren’t everyday things. Why do they think that we must have a ton of homework and no free time when they get a ton of free time? Can someone please explain this to me?

-Navy Blue Dress

Please Leave a Reply

